DRAFT: This module has unpublished changes.

Security Council

The United Nations Security Council (commonly abbreviated ‘UNSC’) is comprised of five permanent members wielding veto power over all resolutions and ten seats which rotate on 2-year terms. Under the UN Charter, the UNSC is primarily responsible for maintaining international peace and security. UN member states are further obligated under the Charter to comply with all Security Council decisions, giving the UNSC the most functional power of any committee in the United Nations.


That power extends to several realms reserved specifically for the Security Council in the case that a threat to international security is determined; namely, to appoint investigators and special consuls, to issue political and economic sanctions, and, in circumstances of open hostilities, to authorize the deployment of peacekeeping forces.

Given the unique authority vested in the Security Council, it is a chamber wherein significant knowledge is expected from all delegates, and resolutions are to be written with the utmost precision and clarity. When considering topics for resolutions, look to persistent and major international conflicts, or to areas where conflict seems likely. Utilize resources such as those listed below to help guide your understanding of perambulatory and operative clauses, as well as your knowledge of parliamentary procedure. Delegates will be presumed to be familiar with all aspects of the rules of order and chairs will not take time out of session to explain rules, unless there is a disagreement between delegates.


The Security Council is also the only chamber wherein delegates may access electronic resources during session. This is a privilege granted due to the vast degree of knowledge necessary to craft effective resolutions on sensitive topics, as well as the speed with which delicate international issues can change; it is thus presumed that delegates will be utilizing their electronic assets appropriately. The chairs of the committee reserve the right to inspect such usage at any time and suspend electronic privileges accordingly.


Current members of the Security Council are the following:


Permanent (veto powers)

  • United States
  • Russia
  • China
  • United Kingdom
  • France

Current non-veto members

  • Bolivia
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Senegal
  • Sweden
  • Ukraine
  • Uruguay


DRAFT: This module has unpublished changes.